Handstand Series: Pointers

DSC01179
That’s Phil, my boyfriend, keeping me company. And Coach Arvin. Thanks coach!

Here I list down some handstand pointers. This is for people who already had some strength training for handstands and would like to start working on balancing off the wall. Really it’s simpler to just say go to your hollow/banana position and you have a handstand but isolating each of this helped in strengthening my form. Sometimes you only have to engage one area and everything else follows other times I forget. I paired two similar points that are somewhat connected to each other. It’s good to try one after the other while standing up, in your hollow position and in your handstand to really understand the feeling and the movement.

  1. Spread your fingers and grip the floor/engage your fingers
  2. Spot the floor with your eyes, keeping your head in line with your arms
  3. Lock your elbows, ears hidden from view
  4. Shrug up engage lats
  5. Open shoulders, ribs in
  6. Stomach in and engage your abs
  7. Tailbone in and engage your glutes
  8. Lock your knees engage your quads
  9. Keep legs together and elongate
  10. Engage ankles and point your toes

I’ve had various kinds of training targeting upper body strength for years but I’ve never really considered working on my handstand until a few months ago. I started attending handstand training at Pure Pilates Philippines hoping for the best. Up next, I will write my favorite strengthening exercises for handstands.

Leave a comment